Joe Lombardo Governor

Jhone M. Ebert Superintendent of Public Instruction



Southern Nevada Office 2080 E Flamingo Rd, Suite 210 Las Vegas, Nevada 89119-0811 Phone: (702) 486-6458 Fax: (702) 486-6450

STATE OF NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

700 E Fifth St | Carson City, Nevada 89701-5096 Phone: (775) 687-9200 | www.doe.nv.gov | Fax: (775) 687-1116

MEMORANDUM

TO: School District Superintendents

State Public School Charter Authority

FROM: Jhone M. Ebert, Superintendent of Public Instruction

DATE: June 5, 2023

SUBJECT: Interim Guidance for Assembly Bill 65 (2023)

This interim guidance is being issued to provide clarification on Assembly Bill (AB) 65, passed during the 2023 legislative session, and revising Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 392.040. Changes specific to sections 12 and 15 include:

Section 12 – effective July 1, 2023

- 1. AB 65 changes the date by which a child must be a certain age to be admitted to certain grade levels of school. Beginning in the 2023-24 school year, the date for admittance to certain grade levels will change from the first day of a school year to August 1.
- 2. A child who is 6 years of age on or before August 1 must: 1) be admitted to the first grade if the child has completed kindergarten; or 2) be admitted to kindergarten if the child has not completed kindergarten.
- 3. A child who is 7 years of age on or before August 1 must: 1) be admitted to the second grade if the child has completed kindergarten and first grade; or 2) be admitted to the first grade if the child has completed kindergarten; or 3) undergo a developmental screening prepared and administered by the district to determine if the child is prepared developmentally to attend the first grade if the child has not completed kindergarten.

Section 15.7 – effective July 1, 2023

- 4. A child who is enrolled in a prekindergarten program during the 2022-2023 school year may be admitted to kindergarten at the beginning of the 2023 school year if the child is 5 years of age on or before the first day of school.
- 5. A pupil who is enrolled in and successfully completes kindergarten or first grade may be promoted to the next grade level regardless of his or her age during the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 school year.

Section 12.3 – effective July 1, 2024

6. Changes the minimum age of attendance for public school from 7 to 6 years beginning the 2024-25 school year.

Attached to this memo, you will find flowcharts to assist in the explanation of changes in AB 65.

If you have any questions, please contact Patti Oya, Director of the Office of Early Learning and Development at poya@doe.nv.gov or 702-486-6492.